​I gave you my word, and lived by it each day,

“I’ll protect you forever,” you said, “come what may”

You broke your promise easy, left me scorching in solitude

Liberated, don’t you feel, of bondage of such great magnitude? 

Coming to think of it, you were right in doing so

A promise is no different from time in prison, no? 

A compromise on freedom to make your own decisions

Each promise a step further into a world of inhibitions

You let go of me, so I broke my promise to you

Did each of those things I swore I wouldn’t do

That I would respect women, be good to them always

See them as humans, not a good body, a pretty face

Yes, I broke my promise, not once, but time and again

Each time I remembered your deceit, it alleviated my pain

So many women, the bodies of whom I violated

Flesh the tonic I turned to, always, when dejected

Why did you, mother? Why did you let me loose? 

You’re the reason today, I stand behind this noose
“Protect you, I did, believe me when I say

From everything that I could, I stood in their way

I didn’t let you loose son, I opened you to the world

I didn’t influence, to you how the universe unfurled

I gave you life and values, dear, that’s all I have done

Your choices, your decisions, I swear I’ve made none

You thought I let go of you, broke all my promises

My womb bleeds in sorrow, though, stabbed with all your blemishes

This noose takes away your breath son, but I’ve been dead for years

With each of your promises broken, each innocent girl’s tears……

Leave a Reply

